top of page

Getting Creative


Grow outside the box

For me getting creative isn’t hard, I love the chance to dress something up and make it pretty. I once spent days in primary school drawing a Bonsai tree for the front cover of a project, just to make it perfect and nothing has changed. I still believe in good presentation and I always strive to think outside the box and come up with new ideas.

Currently I’ve been playing with my marketing picture, for social media purposes.

Using the below website I created 3D versions of my book.

http://www.absolutecovers.com/blog/2016/11/25/3d-kindle-cover-converter/?tid=

Again using pictures from my favourite royalty free Pixaby website. Choose something that suits your book and allows you to make it the centre attraction.

https://pixabay.com

Then combining the two in Word and adding my marketing pitch ‘In Sekhmet – Making of a New Breed, author Lana Anderson applies a new twist to the vampire myth’. I can then use my snipping tool to cut it out and create my finished image.

For some added fun you can then open the image in Photo and my computer allows me to edit and create further by adding some simple overlays such as leaves, rain or lighting to make a short video. See below examples.

I hear a lot of authors say they are not technically savvy but you really don’t need how to reprogram a computer. You just have to have an idea and play around with it until you can make it what you want. Don’t be confined by the box, grow outside of it and learn as you go, with each new branch taking you further from your comfort zone you will climb closer to your goal 😉

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page