top of page

My Wonderful Muses


My Wonderful Muses

Muses are the inspirational gods of old, which were considered the source of knowledge for all writers for centuries in ancient cultures. They are important for any author as they are like fingerprints and each one has his/her own personality that is completely unique. Without observing these different personalities an author would have trouble creating different characters and a book with only one character would be rather boring.

I myself have travelled the world to see different cultures and people, which broadened my scope dramatically and allowed me to have more confidence when writing about other countries. Though my best source of precious muses comes from online gaming, where people are free to be themselves or who they wish they could be in real life. Also they don’t know you anymore than you know them, which allows you to form pictures of them in your mine just based on their personality. With all the text talk it also helps develop running conversations and sometimes they might say a statement that sticks with you, defining their particular personality and transferring to a character you are building.

My first book was dedicated to my wonderful muses in my Wolf Pack as they were there for me when I needed them, either to talk out a problem I was having or just as further inspiration. I also like to write my special ones into my book as a bit of fun, not always as characters as it depends on their game name. For example ‘Bonza’ is not really a name but it is Australian Slang which you will find in the first book as ‘The Bonza Café’. ‘Pingu’ Is a character name but not one for my book lol. He is my awesome evil penguin, who was the first real critic (and by critic, I mean he’s a mean SOB who would not butter me up and tell me if it was shit without a second thought) I had read my book prior to publishing. His comment “I of course compare you to other authors I read and you are much better than the piece of shit twilight series (which I read...shut up)” Was the main reason I decided to publish my book. I figured if he thought it was better than a series that is worth millions, it can’t be that bad. Though I stray from the point the penguin hunting Eve does on Penguin Island is written in just for him.

Though with online gaming people come and go all the time giving you a revolving door of personalities, some you become more attached to than others. I have a whole heap planned for my next book already and this time I plan on keeping their names for quite a few new characters. Pango, Amalthea, Foofy the Great, Bobo and Shotluck will all be part of an actual wolf pack. Bearded Warrior is my undecided mythical creature but considering some kind of dwarf. Corro is already a shape shifter and Beaker (AKA Beaky) will be my new mad vampire scientist. Some or all of these people may not even be playing once the book is finished but they came into my life and for one reason or another they left a lasting impression on me and they had awesome personalities that really showed through even in text.

To all my wonderful muses at Wolf Pack now and yet to come in the future, I thank-you all for allowing me to be a small part of your lives.

Lots of hugs and kisses to you all 😉

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page